PDA

View Full Version : New GM running a one-shot on Friday, Feb. 3rd

Spin-Man
February 1st, 2017, 04:51
I'm new to Fantasy Grounds: I messed around with the demo a few years ago, but my group at the time wasn't interested so I all but forgot about it. Now, things have changed and I'm ready to start using it. I've been messing around with it and getting used to the interface, but I want to run a one-shot this Friday for some more experienced players who can help smooth out any unforeseen issues I run into. I have plenty of experience with D&D, so my goal here is to become more comfortable with the software and meet some members of the community. New players are also welcome, and encouraged to come join us!

I'm going to run a D&D 5th Edition game based on the Harried in Hillsfar adventure. It's advertised as several 1-hour mini-adventures, so we'll finish at least one, and if it goes quickly we'll jump right into the next. We may even finish the whole set as long as everyone has time.

FG License: Ultimate (I just upgraded!)
Game System: D&D 5th Ed

Time Zone: Pacific (GMT -8)
Day of week and time: Friday, 7:00pm local time (3:00am on Saturday GMT)
Planned start date: Friday, February 3rd
Planned Duration & Frequency: One-shot, 2-5 hours
Text or Voice: Voice
Voice software used: TeamSpeak

Roleplay & Combat mix: Mostly combat (Knowing modules, it's about 10/90) :)
Number of Players needed: 3-7
Character starting level & equipment: 1 with standard gear (I'll bump everyone to level 2 if we have only 3 players)
Character restrictions: Anything in the PHB goes, but nothing else for this one: I want to keep it simple. I have a few pre-generated characters ready to go if you don’t want to make one.

A link to the entry on the campaign calendar here (https://www.fantasygrounds.com/calendar/?id=2384)

(Originally posted here (https://www.fantasygrounds.com/forums/showthread.php?36331-Help-a-new-player-learn-the-ropes-next-Friday!) under a less clear title.)

Warpiggy