PDA

View Full Version : Is this for me (noob)?

Osshkosh
January 29th, 2017, 14:24
I'm completely new to playing D&D. I keep reading the learning curve for this game (FG) is steep. I just picked up the the box starter set to do some reading. Is FG the best way to learn or should I do a little more reading first? I wanted to find a local group but its a little hard at the moment and of course some people don't want to teach a new player. Thank you for your time.

Dyark
January 29th, 2017, 14:50
Hi Osshkosh

Welcome to the community

There is some great videos on youtube that teach you how to play and create a character. It is not that hard if you are on the player side.
Of course learning the basic of playing is a must (What you can do and how with your character), FG let you assemble all the data into one place and combat is a lot easier to manage with it.

There is one here but so many are there also if you search

https://youtu.be/q47SgXZLHdo

JohnD
January 29th, 2017, 16:32
I think accepting new players and helping them learn the game is something we do very well in this community.

Osshkosh
January 29th, 2017, 22:01
Thank you for your time.

Dwayne Squires
January 29th, 2017, 22:02
Osshkosh,

I hope this is helpful. I keyed in on a particular word that you used, "Game". FG is not a game. It is a Virtual Table Top management system for playing D&D. This is not any like an RPG game such as Balder's Gate or Dragon Age. Instead it helps you manage and play D&D (or several other table top games) so that you do not need to use pen and paper or be in the same room with all the other players. I think people get confused sometimes and think this is some kind of game when it is not and then get really disappointed after they buy it. This may seem like a minor point but it is key to understand what you are getting.