PDA

View Full Version : Noob to FG

Dwayne Squires
January 22nd, 2017, 17:36
So I just bought FG. I saw it on Steam and thought this would be a great program to use with my playing group (My Family). I will GM and the kids will all be players.

So I reviewed a great many videos and such before purchasing because this was a major purchase. However, now that I have it, I am finding it hard to find some very basic users instructions. I have some experience creating user guides and one of the first things you will normally find is how to personalize the interface. I have not been able to find any instructions on how to personalize my FG workspace. Looking at the videos I see various backgrounds. However, I cannot find how to change my background.

I created my first campaign session to start creating my world and my background is a glaring whitish blank screen. At a minimum I would like to change the color to something less glaring. However, a background image would be nice as well. Plus the background in those videos are far less glaring. I am stumped at how to fix this. I did find the Desktop Decal feature.

Random searching as not resulted in finding anyway of how to change my background. Also another minor annoyance is that I run dual screens but the only way to use both screens is to stretch a windowed version across both screens. It would be nice to have a sort of "maximized" window that is able to cross both screens. This just might be my ignorance of how to use my screen set up in windows but I would appreciate in advice on this one as well.

Thanks

Bidmaron
January 22nd, 2017, 18:15
Dwane, welcome to the forums here. Before we can help you, we need to know which game system you want to play. As for tailoring your background, worry about that later. It is non-trivial, and it is far more important to get the basics down of setting up and running an adventure before you start working with extensions and so on.