PDA

View Full Version : Considering buying Ultimate, but I need to know more about rulesets.

darthgator
January 9th, 2017, 19:07
My group and I have been using another VTT since around 2012, even committing to their Kickstarter in 2014. Since it seems they've squandered all the money they raised for their project on stupid decisions and the software hasn't substantially improved for over a year, we're considering a switch to FG.

We've played around with the Demo version a couple of times, and it seems alright. However, we use quite a few houserules and Pathfinder Unchained options in our current game. In the other software, I've had to spend hours creating abilities and options to integrate these rules. So, I have two primary questions for current users:

1. Does FG fully integrated the options available from the entire PFRPG line (at least Paizo material) in a way that's easy to incorporate into the game?

2. How difficult is it to create variant abilities/mechanics within the software? (Example: We like the Unchained 'Spell Attack Roll' variant. Is this already an available option within the software, or is it relatively simple to create a new attack option and defense score to add to all characters?)

Thanks in advance for any information!

Talyn
January 9th, 2017, 19:24
Right this moment, only the included PRD material is available, though in the PFRPG forums several community members have also made a lot of additional rule modules and other source material.

However, Paizo just signed a licensing agreement to have official Pathfinder material here which should start arriving later this month if all goes well. That said, there are 8 or so years worth of Pathfinder material so it's going to be awhile before all of it is on Fantasy Grounds.