PDA

View Full Version : How to Automate effects on NPCs

Zacchaeus
January 5th, 2017, 18:37
Every so often the subject of what wording is required on NPCs so that the attacks and effects are automatically entered onto the Combat Tracker. This post is an attempt to answer that question as fully as I possibly can. The codicil is that I have no special knowledge of what is acceptable; what follows is what I have found works through trial and error mostly. Additionally the wordings suggested might not be the only acceptable wording but these definitely work.

This article has now been incorporated and expanded on in the 5e Wiki (https://www.fantasygrounds.com/wiki/index.php/5E_Effects#Automating_Effects_on_NPCs)

How the parser works

I don’t have the technical details of how exactly the parser works but from what Moon Wizard has said in the forums the parser within FG latches on to certain key words and creates the effect from those words. However the words themselves are not sufficient; it is the context in which the words are found that is important. The reason for this is that if an effect were to be produced every time a key word was recognised there would be a huge number of false positives which would be undesirable.

Weapon Attacks

Melee Weapon Attack: +x to Hit [reach 5ft., one target]. Hit: x (ndn + x) <type> damage.
Ranged Weapon Attack: +x to hit, [range n/n ft., one target]. Hit: x (ndn +x) <type> damage

Each different attack should be a new statement. For example the correct result will not be obtained if a melee and ranged attack are combined as in “Melee or Ranged Weapon Attack:”. Such a line will show only the one attack on the CT. Where an attack could be melee or ranged then the correct statement would be:
Melee Weapon Attack: +x to Hit [reach 5ft., one target]. Hit: x (ndn + x) <type> damage or Ranged Weapon Attack: +x to hit, [range n/n ft., one target]. Hit: x (ndn +x) <type> damage