PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Advice

zealdib
December 24th, 2016, 17:49
Hi All

I am very new to Fantasy Grounds and am seriously considering purchasing what looks to be a great product. However I have a few questions first.

If three of my players and I purchase the standard license then I will be able to host a game. Correct?

If I then purchase the Players Handbook, do my players have access to that? Or do they need to also purchase it?

Trenloe
December 24th, 2016, 17:56
Welcome Zeal'Dib.

If everyone playing has a standard license then you can be GM (and any others could also GM a game).

Players have access to products the GM owns and chooses to share with the players (simple case of allowing access in the campaign). Each player doesn't need to buy the PHB if the GM owns the PHB, they will have access to it when they are connected to the GMs game (campaign). the players won't have access when not connected.

zealdib
December 24th, 2016, 17:59
Thanks Trenloe!

I have already come across your name on several occasions when exploring FG so I appreciate that such a big name is willing to take the time to reply to such a greenhorn as myself.

Cheers!

Bidmaron
December 24th, 2016, 18:48
Trenloe is definitely one of the greats here, Zeal. You will find that even the biggest names here will take the time to help folks. While it is a cliche that support is the best in a lot of places (Realmworks, ProFantasy, e.g.), I think this is the place that is the best.

vodokar
December 24th, 2016, 19:05
It's the friendliest place on the internet. Welcome Zeal'Dib and Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays. Nothing compares to what Fantasy Grounds offers. Not in features, support for games, and especially not in the community of people here; that is what makes it the most special.

zealdib
December 24th, 2016, 20:15
Thanks Vodokar and Bidmaron.

Merry Christmas to you both.

It definitely seems like a great community with such warm welcomes from the likes of you two.

dulux-oz