PDA

View Full Version : How many players do you prefer?

Ilwan
September 23rd, 2005, 15:41
I have always been wondering how some adventure modules said for 6-8 players. I have heard about 8 players at the FG table and mostly when I speak with americans, they prefer 5-6 players at least. That has always wondered me, since I prefer 3-4 players and think that even 5 players is too much both in FG in in RL PnP. Maybe this poll will state how many players people prefer on average.

gurney9999
September 23rd, 2005, 16:35
For me I think 3 is the perfect number. I'm still learning FG, but for pacing I would think anything more than 4 would get crazy.

Ram Tyr
September 23rd, 2005, 17:02
I voted for 5-6 players. (I assumed that "players" doesn't include the GM, by the way. I know it probably should be obvious, but I thought about it for a sec.)

The main reason I say that is that unless the DM is ensuring that character classes are diverse during party formation, it takes that many actual players to create a functional party of characters. If players are flexible with their character concepts you can do 4 and still have a good time knowing that the DM has good range of obstacles to throw at you. (You know you hate it when there is no cleric for undead...no true tank, etc.)

My FG campaigns have ranged from 4 players to 6 players. They all worked fine. If everyone is a big talker (in character), it can get slow, but that happens in face to face games too. Besides, if everyone is having a good time chatting it up, and one player doesn't like the speed, s/he is probably in the wrong group.

In my face to face group, the goal number for players is 5. It works pretty well.

The other issue is the number of characters that a single player can run. In FG there is a 1:1 ratio of players to characters. In some face to face campaigns I know that some players run more than one character. That would make keeping the number of players down easier.