PDA

View Full Version : Basic AL Questions

Belgaleen
October 24th, 2016, 21:59
Hello,

I'm very new to FG, DND 5e and DDAL. I've had fun at FG Con 9 and it was suggested I look at alonlinetools.net. In another thread it was suggested that I sign up even if it looks full, but I've noticed a couple of other things that I'm not sure I understand and I'm not exactly sure where to go ask the question but since this forum is for DDAL hopefully someone can answer or point me in the right direction:

1-I see a Purple & that says Online LC/RC/Admin and a Red & that says AL Online Team DM. What does that mean?
2-There is a Request Game button. Is that exactly what it says? ie, I can request a game at a specific time as a player? Does a DM just pick it up if they are interested or how does that work? I didn't want to randomly do stuff on that page :).
3-It says Normal Game/Quest of the Week Game/Hardcover - Quest of the Week seems obvious I think, but what is the difference between a Normal Game and Hardcover?
4-What is the expected etiquette on time? For example, if it says 3 hours, I'd like to try to give it a little buffer...how much extra time is expected? 30 mins reasonable or some other value?
5-Where do you report problems with the webpage? One of my registrations shows me in there but doesn't show the signup order and one of the characters isn't reporting the right level.
6-What other games would be good for a newbie since DDAL seems to be regularly full?
7-Any other tips or words of wisdom for a newbie? I'll happily take any advice on any topic, not just FG, DND 5e and DDAL :).

TYVM.

tiawaz
October 26th, 2016, 21:46
1-I see a Purple & that says Online LC/RC/Admin and a Red & that says AL Online Team DM. What does that mean?

Adventurers League is 'organized' play, and these Local Coordinator/Regional Coordinator/Admins are the guys doing the organizing
AFAIK AL Online Team DM's are the guys doing the Quest of the Week Program