PDA

View Full Version : Brand new to FG, just got my Hardcover C&C books. WOW! Excellent system.

Hawker73
October 21st, 2016, 05:43
Wow. I have been out of the RPG scene for decades really, and I don't think I realized how much I missed it until I started playing this weeks. What I am really even more impressed with is these latest C&C hardcovers that just arrived. The quality is excellent easily rivaling my beloved 1E books, or anything by TSR, or WoTC has ever produced. I swear I am getting the same nostalgia as the first time I opened my Ad&D books in a Waldens book store as a kid. It looks like exactly what I have been wanting since being disappointed in 2E so long ago. Either that or this is a start of a RPG induced regression mid-life crisis.....either way that's fine by me.. :D

The only issue I see so far is I do wonder how the Seige Engine/Saving Throw system will work out at higher levels.....I can see how magic attacks and breath etc could be much more unforgiving in this system. However that may just be based on my quick over view, and still trying to grasp how it plays out. I can't say enough how much I am impressed with the hardcovers and quality by Troll Lord Games. (I know I sound like a salesman at this point) In any case I am an instant fan.

I have been very lucky and found two on going games to join, but am eager for more C&C now. If anyone has a space in any ongoing games, particular new games where a 1st level might join....I would be very interested, but I am interested in any good groups regardless of level.