PDA

View Full Version : Incorporating difficulties into 6e?



Magnimost
October 19th, 2016, 23:44
Can skill difficulty levels be done easily in FG?

Player rolls a skill check, and gets the following output:

1-5 Yes (CRITICAL)
6-[skill level] Yes
[skill level +1] - [skill level +10] Yes, but
[skill level +11] - [skill level +20] No, but
[skill level +21] - [95] No
96-100 No (FUMBLE)



The goal would be to expedite gameplay by not having to calculate your success level every time you roll a die. Ideally the above would occur automatically when clicking on the skill check, but I'm not above using a table. I tried to create a table for this, but couldn't figure it out.

Moon Wizard
October 19th, 2016, 23:50
You won't be able to create a table for this, because it is specifically tied to the result of the skill dice roll and the results. It would need to be built into the ruleset code.

There's no plans to update this ruleset at this time, but damned and ianward are working on the 7E version and you could try asking them to include in that version.

Regards,
JPG

Trenloe
October 19th, 2016, 23:53
Depends what you mean by "easily". You'd need to write an extension.

Have a look at IanMWard's cool 7E extension (that runs on the 6e ruleset) here: https://www.fantasygrounds.com/forums/showthread.php?23483-CoC-7e-Rules-Extension-Release It does the auto calc of Extreme, Hard or normal success in scripts\manager_action_skill.lua, manager_action_ability.lua and manager_action_attack.lua

Trenloe
October 19th, 2016, 23:54
There's no plans to update this ruleset at this time, but damned and ianward are working on the 7E version and you could try asking them to include in that version.
7e has it's own specific degree of success mechanic, which 6e didn't have.

damned
October 20th, 2016, 05:11
And the 7e ruleset has this feature (plus a guide for spending luck).

Magnimost
October 20th, 2016, 18:53
That's a bummer. I'm not planning to use 7e, but a house rule.

Can the chat interface do custom functions? If I do

/skillcheck [skill level] [difficulty]

FG would roll dice and tell which result comes up?

Trenloe
October 20th, 2016, 19:04
That's a bummer. I'm not planning to use 7e, but a house rule.

Look at the 7e extension for what you can do pretty easily with the 6e ruleset - I highlighted which files in post #3. Strip out the 7e specific stuff and use the resulting extension for your 6e games.


Can the chat interface do custom functions? If I do

/skillcheck [skill level] [difficulty]

FG would roll dice and tell which result comes up?
Yes, this can be done, but it would require coding. Probably more coding than taking the 7e extension and modifying it to do what you want in 6e.

Magnimost
October 20th, 2016, 23:45
Depends what you mean by "easily". You'd need to write an extension.

Have a look at IanMWard's cool 7E extension (that runs on the 6e ruleset) here: https://www.fantasygrounds.com/forums/showthread.php?23483-CoC-7e-Rules-Extension-Release It does the auto calc of Extreme, Hard or normal success in scripts\manager_action_skill.lua, manager_action_ability.lua and manager_action_attack.lua

The file in this post here (https://www.fantasygrounds.com/forums/showthread.php?23483-CoC-7e-Rules-Extension-Release&p=249084&viewfull=1#post249084) only has .ext, no .lua files?

Moon Wizard
October 20th, 2016, 23:54
EXT files for Fantasy Grounds are ZIP files containing an extension.xml file, and any referenced XML or Lua files. Just use Windows or your favorite compression tool to unzip. (To unzip in windows, it's usually easiest to rename the file to *.ext.zip)

Cheers,
JPG

Magnimost
October 21st, 2016, 11:18
Thank you Mr Wizard, got it to work!

Here the edited snippet:

-- Debug.console("onSkill: ", rRoll.aDice[1].result, nRating);
if rRoll.aDice[1].result < 6 then
rMessage.text = rMessage.text .. " [CRITICAL]";
elseif rRoll.aDice[1].result <= nRating then
rMessage.text = rMessage.text .. " [Yes]";
elseif rRoll.aDice[1].result <= nRating+10 then
rMessage.text = rMessage.text .. " [Yes, but...]";
elseif rRoll.aDice[1].result <= nRating+20 then
rMessage.text = rMessage.text .. " [No, but...]";
elseif rRoll.aDice[1].result <= 95 then
rMessage.text = rMessage.text .. " [No]";
elseif rRoll.aDice[1].result > 95 then
rMessage.text = rMessage.text .. " [FUMBLE]";
else
rMessage.text = rMessage.text .. " [Fail]";
end

It works perfectly! I'm a coder woooo! I need to also edit the buttons for Hard, Extreme etc., but will post in the thread dedicated to the extension.

Trenloe
October 21st, 2016, 16:51
It works perfectly! I'm a coder woooo!
Fantastic! :)