PDA

View Full Version : Question about starting a campaign/server

HavocSmurf
September 22nd, 2016, 01:59
Just have a technical question. When I create a campaign, is the campaign available for any player to log into at anytime, or do I (the host DM) need to have the game up and running on my PC for others to join? Wondering if players can join the campaign and create their characters with the shared resources if I'm not online. Please and thanks.

BasiliskOnline
September 22nd, 2016, 02:04
Newbie here, myself, but i know that you need to be online for your players to connect with you or your campaign, i do believe they can make their own characters on their client and port them to yours, but they wont have access to any DM shared resources.

HavocSmurf
September 22nd, 2016, 02:08
Thanks for the info Basilisk. I suspected that was the case, but wanted to confirm. Cheers

LordEntrails
September 22nd, 2016, 03:27
Yep, Basilisk has it right.

Torgaard
September 22nd, 2016, 16:14
That's what I do: I leave our campaign up and running on my machine 24-7. I've got my custom made (via PAR5E) Player's Handbook and my custom made Deities and Demigods (via PARS5E) shared so that players can connect any time, use the books, and do whatever they want. They'll often review notes they've taken from the campaign, tweak their characters background a little, etc - but the thing a couple of them do most (by far) is make additional characters. I've lost count of how many characters those guys have created. It's pretty funny. I'll often get the call from one of them: "Mock battle! Need to test a new character - get on the table, let's do this!"

Another interesting bit of info is that while my campaign is pretty huge, with a ton-o-stuff in it (it's been running for 2-3 years now), we don't really have any trouble with bandwidth or the table slowing down - even with one of my players being on the other side of the planet (in Singapore).

HavocSmurf
September 23rd, 2016, 00:46