PDA

View Full Version : Considering hosting a late-night game [cancelled]

Myth
September 2nd, 2005, 22:23
Greetings, all.

I've been DMing in various versions of D&D for the last 20 years or so. I currently run a sporadic 3.5 game for my oldest two sons. I used to sink incredible amounts of time into f2f and online RPG (D&D text-based, non-MUD, with a real live DM. Not video game "RPGs") So, my wife is very much against me participating in an online RPG that takes place during my kids' waking hours.

Accordingly, I'm tentatively considering running a game after 9 or 10 Pacific Time (which is GMT - 8). The Fantasy Grounds software package looks exquisite for online gaming, but there's no benefit to investing time & money into it until I find out if there are enough players out there to support my late-night time slot. I think I'm hoping mainly for Australian or Asian players; anyone else would have to be a vampire to be awake at the hours I'm requesting. :)

The campaign is my own, but it isn't overly different from a Greyhawk or Forgotten Realms kind of setting. In other words, I don't have many house rules and they aren't very extreme. Nobody will have any difficulty adjusting to the setting.

I run games where role-playing is the focus. Combat happens, but often it doesn't happen for several sessions. I think that my kids were level 4 or 5 before they got into their first actual fight. And, they were both pure fighters, not wizards or rogues or some light-combat class like that. :) The focus is on personality development and questing, rather than powergaming, accumulating magic items, and doing 20+ points of damage per round of combat.