PDA

View Full Version : yet another failed connection test question

Vodkard
August 31st, 2016, 22:07
Hi everyone,

So I used to play D&D years ago and saw this Fantasy Grounds. Totally stoked I decided to give it a try. So far I bought the game and a standard license. I'm still learning the program, but here's my question:
I keep getting a failed connection test. Here's what I've done:

1) I open a port forwarding to 1802 directly in my router (NetGear).
2) I use McAfee and went into it's Firewall and added port 1802 to use.

I'm still getting a failed connection test. I've scoured the internet but to no avail. I don't know what else to do. If someone has the time, I could use some advanced help. Just in case, I d/l TeamSpeak and am in the default channel.
Also, I tried using it on two different computers in the house and it fails on both, if that helps.

Vodkard

Seya
August 31st, 2016, 22:57
Some routers you have to port forward it on the built in firewall also. Google the guides for your router

LordEntrails
August 31st, 2016, 22:59
Welcome to the community.

First, do you have a modem and a router? If so, you have to port forward from the modem to the router, from the router to the computer. You can test this by going to canyouseeme.org

Second, What country are you in? Some countries are out of IPv4 addresses and use IPv6 (which isn't supported), or use other translation technologies, or have been blocked by Smiteworks due to excessive attacks from those locations (which Smiteworks can make exceptions for).

There are some other things that can be checked for, but those are the first to to check.

jasonthelamb
August 31st, 2016, 22:59
Did you open 1802 UDP or TCP? Fantasy Grounds uses 1802 TCP

damned
August 31st, 2016, 23:42
If you are around about nowish I can test with you and get you setup.