PDA

View Full Version : Need an assist with my first extension (3.5/PFRPG)

nickabbey
August 28th, 2016, 18:56
I'm new to LUA and FG, but I've been programming for a long time and I am ready to jump in.

Per my original question (https://www.fantasygrounds.com/forums/showthread.php?33802-Can-this-idea-be-built-as-an-extension&p=286777&posted=1#post286777) in the 3.5/PFRPG forum, I want to add a check box to the character sheet titled

"Receives XP"

And then I want to override the awardXP method of manager_ps2.lua to check the state of that box when determining the members of the party for xp calculation and awarding.

so, I know I need to modify the record_char_main.xml to add the new title and check box.
I presume I also need to somehow persist the state of this check box to the database.

Then over in the lua script for the manager, when I override the awardXP function, I need to modify the conditional:

local nodePC = DB.findNode(sRecord);
if nodePC then
local sName = DB.getValue(v, "name", "");
table.insert(aParty, { name = sName, node = nodePC } );
end

with something like

local nodePC = DB.findNode(sRecord);
local nodeXP = <whtever it takes to lookup the check box I created>
if nodePC and nodeXP then
local sName = DB.getValue(v, "name", "");
table.insert(aParty, { name = sName, node = nodePC } );
end

This should really do exactly what I want in the least invasive way possible.

I'm struggling with the learning curve, however.

I'm taking it in small chunks, and the first thing I'm struggling with is adding the label and checkbox.
Can I get some advise on where to find the right documentation, and maybe an example?
I've been picking apart existing extensions but haven't quite nailed it down yet.

Trenloe
August 28th, 2016, 19:34
This thread gives some good background (and further links): https://www.fantasygrounds.com/forums/showthread.php?19033-Modifying-the-3-5e-PFRPG-ruleset