PDA

View Full Version : The Action Tab and the Rage ability

kevdog45
August 20th, 2016, 04:44
Two things

Although I am building an adventure using Fantasy Grounds campaign builder I am relatively new to Fantasy Grounds and have never played a game using the system yet. It is my assumption from looking at the functionality that 99% of the game from the players end is played from the action tab. If that is the case then any ability from the abilities tab that might affect actions should be placed on that tab. Is this assumption basically correct?

I ask because when I finally get around to setting up a game its going to be the first thing I ask players to do during character creation. An example would be the dragonborn breath weapon. When a dragonborn character is created that ability is not automatically placed on the action tab. You would also have to add the dragon color effects to that ability once placed. It just seems that it would make play go much smoother.

I've also noticed that when I do this to the rage ability and apply it to Kraan of the Zahr, a barbarian from the twisted north, it simply applies an effect that makes Kraan fall unconscious. Being unconscious makes him far less menacing. :) I found the code to make the ability online and added it but that would lead me to believe that some of the abilities are not coded in the same way that, for example, sneak attack for rogues are?

damned
August 20th, 2016, 06:06
I reckon the Action Tab accounts for between 20 and 40%... Lots can happen here but so much still happens elsewhere and much cannot be automated enough to place into the Actions Tab.

Trenloe
August 20th, 2016, 10:12
If the players are in a lot of combats then, yes, they'll be in the actions tab quite a lot.