PDA

View Full Version : Legendary resistance/saves and open rolls

eerongal
August 9th, 2016, 17:36
Hi!

So my group of friends and I have been using fantasy grounds for a couple of years now, and one thing that has always kinda bugged me was legendary resistance, i also had a question about saves. I was wondering if maybe i was doing something wrong, or if there was a better way to handle it.

With legendary resistance: I use open/public rolls when i play, because it makes it easier for me if someone rolls an attack roll, and it lets them know it hits, or if they need to roll damage after a save without a half damage aspect. This causes issues with legendary resistance, however. The player will see the save roll a "fail" and then i have to say "no, it didn't fail, it succeeded" whenever i want to use a legendary resistance. The problem with this is the fact that it pretty openly tells my players when the creature uses legendary resistance, which sometimes is news to them, or lets them count how many it has used, and bank on them being out of it at a certain point. Is there a way to apply this and/or keep only certain rolls like this hidden? I would prefer not to have ALL rolls hidden, because of how much easier it makes it to run the game as a whole.

Then my question about saves relates to legendary resistance (and other such abilities). Is there a way to turn a save failure into a success, without having the person reroll the ability? This is important for things like half/no damage and ability applications. Things like the fighter's indomitable and legendary resistance i've had to apply manually when it turns a save from a failure into a success, which slows things down. I'm hoping that maybe there's a feature or something with FG that i was unaware of, since it seems like i'm almost always finding new features and different ways to do things anyways.

Thanks in advance!

LordEntrails
August 9th, 2016, 17:55
Welcome to the forums :)