PDA

View Full Version : Advanced Apologies for Basic Question...(Newbie to FG)

LinkRS
August 7th, 2016, 04:49
Howdy Everyone,

I saw Fantasy Grounds pop-up in my Steam library late last year, and I have been lurking around looking at it since then. The initial cost has prevented me from taking the "plunge," and I finally decided to dip my toes in with the current Steam sale. Anyway, I am an old-school Advanced Dungeons & Dragons player (pre WoTC, under TSR and SSI), and an experienced GM of several different games (Vampire the Masquerade, Star Wars the Role-playing Game, RIFTS, etc..), but I am a total newbie to the VTT concept. I have been poking around the FG software, reading things here in the forum, and on Steam, but have not been able to find unambiguous answers to the questions I am about to ask. So, I apologize in advance if I am asking stupid questions, but I really did try to find the answers for myself first....

Several different posts here in the 5E forum, refer to the "SRD" library items, and the WoTC licensed items, specifically the Player's Handbook (PHB), Dungeon Master's Guide (DMG), and the Monster Manual (MM). It seems to be strongly encouraged to purchase these items, rather than rely on the "SRD" versions included with the install of FG. So, my questions revolve around this topic:

1 What is 'SRD'? It seems these are just a subset of the official WoTC Rules?
2 Where can I find the PHB for FG? The only thing I can find is the D&D Complete Core Class Pack, which costs the same as the physical 5E PHB ($50).
3 Where can I find the MM for FG? Again, I found D&D Complete Core Monster Pack, which is on sale for $40, compared to the $50 Physical book
4 Do you need to have the physical books AND the FG versions? I am new to 5E, and have not actively played/DM'd a game since version 3.0.
5 Assuming the answer to question 4 is 'no', can I "read" the FG versions once purchased?

Thanks a million in advance for any help.

Rich S.

Zacchaeus