PDA

View Full Version : 5e adventure creation - learning by doing - questions

Myrdin Potter
August 6th, 2016, 17:32
I have been using FG for about 9 months now, but always with pre-done content. I am now trying to learn how to best use the program to create adventures. To start with, I am converting over from PDF one of the modules I have.

I did read one guide I found that had good advice like putting all the new monsters into their own campaign and then creating a module from it (module being the FG term, not the standard D&D use meaning adventure). That allows you easily reuse the monsters.

One first question I have is now that I am putting the story elements in, what is the order that FG displays it in the tab? Order created with newest first or sorted alphabetically? Can you reorder or do you have to use naming tricks like starting with letters or numbers to get the right order?

So far I have been having some fun relearning GIMP and figuring out to best way to open a PDF and grabbing images and text. I have found that in this module the page design worked with transparency and other features of the main image and some look good if just grabbed and others are actually better if you take a "snapshot" and then crop the image.

I do plan on learning Par5e next, but I want to use the built in process first to learn it as it is what Par5e automates.

The new monsters are written in good 5e form in the PDF so much of it just works when I drop them into the combat tracker, but I will have to work on a few of the effects which is also good for me to learn.

I will try and use this thread for questions as I get them and some links to whatever the more experienced people wish everyone would read before trying to make a module would be appreciated. I will try and keep one question per entry into this thread, with this entry being the order the adventure material appears in one entered and how it could be changed.

Trenloe
August 6th, 2016, 19:27