PDA

View Full Version : Mutant Chronicles

malvok
August 1st, 2016, 18:42
I'm looking to give the new 3rd edition of Mutant Chronicles a try but I'm unsure of which version to get, 2d20 or Savage Worlds. I am not familiar with either system. I know there's a Savage Worlds ruleset but I assume there will be a good amount of customization needed to use it with Mutant Chronicles.

What are your opinions of these systems, both as they apply to Fantasy Grounds and Mutant Chronicles?

I see that the source books haven't yet been converted to Savage Worlds, will that be a hindrance to using the system? Are there general conversion rules available?

Mask_of_winter
August 2nd, 2016, 01:24
If you like crunch you may prefer 2d20 but it isn't supported by an official or community ruleset yet.
I've been using the Savage Worlds ruleset here for about 8 years and usually play setting that arent in the store. I've used the SW Enhanced Library extension to create custom content (it's like Par5e but you do it within FG wysiwyg).
That said, I don't own Mutant Chronicles in either rule systems. Savage Worlds has a free Test Drive pdf. I believe you can get a sample of the rules for Mutant Chronicles as well. I know backers for Conan 2d20 got a sample of the system too.

Darq
August 4th, 2016, 05:23
I think Savage Worlds will surprise you. It is a fairly well thought out system. Hell they made Rifts Conversion work with minimal tweaking.

malvok
August 5th, 2016, 01:19
I checked out Savage Worlds and it seems promising. It's very different from most RPGs I've played, faster paced, simpler resolution, not as bogged down with complexity. I bought the Savage Worlds version of Mutant Chronicles and the Savage Worlds ruleset. They look like fun.

Darq
August 5th, 2016, 01:44