PDA

View Full Version : Looking for inspiration

hydrol
June 20th, 2016, 20:03
Evening all,

I am relatively new to FG and RPG but absolutely love it so far. As i am GMT timezone i am finding it hard to find a game of FG but have enjoyed a number of games on Roll20 to get me used to the various rulesets etc. I think the best chance of me getting a group on FG is to be a DM and run my own one shot! (jump in at the deep end!!)

With this in mind i have the Murmuring Fountain extension and am fairly confident in my ability to run it through FG - The issue i have is that this 1 shot is obviously part of a larger scenario and the Murmuring Fountain starts "In a chamber with a knocking at the window"

Here is where my problem starts - How to create a sufficient back story for running it as a 1 shot? How did the party end up in the Town? How do i stop the party from exploring the remainder of the town which isn't supported in this scenario (no town maps, nothing to support the townsfolk in the story, NPC's, maps etc)

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated

TimeZone: GMT
FG Version -FULL
:rv:

LordEntrails
June 20th, 2016, 20:14
I'm not familiar with this adventure, but in general I would just recommend you layout the restrictions at the beginning. Tell people, "Hey, I've got this one-shot. Here's some back story on it. Be aware of a couple of things; This is my first time running it, It's limited in scope, I don't have everything for the entire town etc, so we will need to stick pretty close to the story line."

I think you'll find you won't have much problems. As you've noticed, their is always a lack of DMs so you will usually have no trouble finding players. Especially if you run a one-shot at FG Daze :)

Zacchaeus
June 20th, 2016, 21:01
Actually it isn't part of a larger story although there is another adventure set in the same village called 'The Fiddler's Lament'. It is just what it says, a one off adventure.