PDA

View Full Version : Pre-Game GM requests

gmfox19
June 13th, 2016, 13:11
I've been running games on FG now for about two months and I am having a great time! Everyone that I have had the pleasure of playing with has been excellent and enjoyable to play with and I am looking forward to lots of great gaming to come. To that end, I am doing my utmost to refine the experience that I provide to players and refine my skills as a GM. What I would like to know from other GMs out there is, do you have any guidelines that you ask of your players to follow regarding background noise, pregame preparation, knowledge of the rules, character updates and character sheet responsibility and the like. Do you have any post game things that you do as matter of course to wrap things up smoothly and get ready for the next session?

Thanks in advance for any responses!

damned
June 13th, 2016, 13:54
Heya gmfox19,

I play games in a regular group and run some one shots at various times.

For all games everyone should have a freaking headset and mic! There is no excuse for bombarding everyone else with all your background noise. Definitely players should use push to talk so we dont have to also hear them eating their doritos. Im flexible on people having to learn everything about a rulesystem - I dont know it all so I dont expect players to. If a player does something new I get them to look up the rule(s) and share it to the group if there is any contention... The 5e game I play in we are fortunate enough to have a keen dutchman who seems to be a little encyclopedic in his knowledge of the players handbook :) Players are always responsible for character sheet management. I will rarely check a players sheet unless something comes up in game...

For one-shots if I want the players to read/know something Ill email them prior - otherwise I assume no knowledge of the system and spend the first 30mins on the system.