PDA

View Full Version : New Monsters

Amalica
July 28th, 2005, 06:30
I'm not sure if I'm missing something or what? I'm just getting started at the FG thing and I need to create some encounters that are not in the Monster Manual I. How do I edit or create new monsters for instance?

Thanks for any help and feed back :roll:

cogollo
July 28th, 2005, 09:31
I think you have to add them as a new node in the file monsters.xml

You can find that file in the database directory of the ruleset you are using (I suppose it will be the d20 ruleset).

I have added them to my new ruleset and it works, but I am not sure if you can add it like that to the basic ruleset that comes with FG. I'll make a quick test when I am at home this afternoon and will let you know if it works.

richvalle
July 28th, 2005, 11:39
I don't think you have to add them into the xml file... you could just add them as personalities. In fact you can take a 'normal' critter and drop it in as a personality and then modify it giving it extra hp's, levels, equipment ect.

Hope that helps.

rv

Amalica
July 31st, 2005, 03:24
Well I've tried folowing the tips in the Tutorial by Goblin-King. I have attempted to add a monster to the monster.xml file in my own ruleset but I still can't find it in the monster "book" on the "tabletop".

Can any of the Developers help me here??

I can make up a monster as a personality, but if I need multiple of that monster it doesn't work to well. Well

Thanks ahead of time

Thore_Ironrock
July 31st, 2005, 03:31
I'm not sure if I'm missing something or what? I'm just getting started at the FG thing and I need to create some encounters that are not in the Monster Manual I. How do I edit or create new monsters for instance?

Thanks for any help and feed back :roll: