PDA

View Full Version : First time DM - Module advice

Gwydion
June 6th, 2016, 15:27
So, I've been diving into to FG for a couple months to get familiar with it, creating my own basic modules, constructing traps and figuring out how to manage the CT. I've also run my family through a couple sessions of LMOP. However, that is my complete experience as a DM! I'm now expanding to a small group to start a new campaign. Three are co-workers/friends who have a fair amount of rpg experience in general (some with AD&D, others with various other RPG's but not D&D) and my wife who is brand new to rpg's. Since I've already run my wife through the early part of LMOP I'm interested in what module you all think would be a good one for all of us (including me as a new DM). I intended to pick up HOTDQ when it was on sale but I just missed it! I've also read that is pretty challenging for a new DM. I love the idea of Out of the Abyss and even purchased the hardcover adventure but again that seems way too ambitious for a new party and DM as it seems VERY open.

So, all that being said I'm thinking about running the group through a basic dungeon I set up for a session or two, just to get us all used to playing together, making sure we get all the player actions/hotkeys set up the way we want and all the FG options and then running them through the Legacy of the Crystal Shard which I picked up recently on FG but have not yet read through, so I will have some studying to do.

Any thoughts/advice is much appreciated!

Zacchaeus
June 6th, 2016, 15:40