PDA

View Full Version : Advice on scaling lost mine of Phandelver

Resnig
May 10th, 2016, 22:48
I've recently starting running a LMoP game on FG, this is my first time DM'ing (and running through FG). Originally, my group was quite small, so we agreed to start at level 2 to make the battles a little more survivable. The early battles can be quite brutal. Unfortunately (for me as i'm inexperiences, good for the players), since then some of their friends and a couple of mine have bitten the bullet and joined in (and are genuinely enjoying it), however it leaves me in a difficuly situation scaling the battles now. Originally, when running 3 players at level 2, scaling the enemies health to max seemed to work well so the encounters weren't too easy but were still a challenge without being instakill. However, as of the last game there are now another 3 possible regular players (making 5 or 6 regular level 2's). And the scaling doesn't seem to be linear to the number of players even with the extra health. Adding a few extra enemies still seems to have made the encounters a little too easy for the group. Does anyone have any advice to for scaling the encounters in this situation to keep it interesting? The group is still in cragmaw hideout. I'm running checkpoint leveling, so I can get things back on track later in the game with group size without having to worry too much about messing things up later.

Many thanks

Zacchaeus
May 10th, 2016, 23:54