PDA

View Full Version : Permanent Effect

Zarrin
April 27th, 2016, 08:15
I am trying to create a permanent effect on the character sheet actions tab for a magical item my character received in a game.

The item is called the "whip of Warning" - Quote " This Magic weapon warns you of danger. While the weapon is on your person, you have advantage on initiative rolls."

I am trying to figure out how to set this up. Any help would be appreciated as I am new to FG. Is it possible to code it so that it must be in the inventory to work and it also needs to be attuned to work.

Thanks

Zacchaeus
April 27th, 2016, 09:49
HI Zarrin.

First of all here's a link to some reading materia (https://www.fantasygrounds.com/wiki/index.php/5E_Effects)l on effects which might help you get your head around them.

The effect you want will be ADVINIT which can sit on the PC permanently (see the article for how to set that up). There isn't a way for FG to test to see if something is in the inventory so you won't be able to automate it to that extent; also whether something is attuned or not is a 'Theatre of the Mind' thing and again FG can't test for such a thing.

Zarrin
April 27th, 2016, 19:32
Thanks you for the help, I have looked at that page before, it is a bit confusing to me, but that comes with being new to it. I am still trying to figure out how to put that into my actions tab on the character sheet as a power that is active when battle starts. I will fiddle with it some more. Thanks again.

Zacchaeus
April 27th, 2016, 19:54
Follow the detail on this part (https://www.fantasygrounds.com/wiki/index.php/5E_Effects#Creating_Effects_-_Player_Characters) of the article.