PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Question

mbansol
April 6th, 2016, 06:46
OK, I am starting out on FG and I am pretty new to Dnd in general. I am building a module around the "Keep of the Borderland" One of my encounters is against a giant spider. The module has 2 giant spiders, but I didn't like the idea of having them team up because in RL. Spiders would often kill each other and you no longer have 2 spiders.

Anyways, I made a spider and it can "Cast" entanglement which isn't really a spell, it is just physically shooting spider web at PC's from a distance and if it hits it's target it crawls down bites/maybe poisons them and pulls them up into the tree with it.
So, my newbie confusion is the "Casting" of the web. I was thinking the most logical was Dex vs Dex save? Dex of the spider being able to out maneuver and target the PC maneuver vs. Maneuver. Or would it be better to do to hit AC vs.. saving throw using Dex? Let me know.

Zacchaeus
April 6th, 2016, 10:07
For what ruleset?

In any case I'd go with a Dex saving throw since I can set up an effect for that (in 5e at least but I'm sure that can be done in other rulesets too) and have it automate. But I can't do that with any other method.

jajen2003
April 6th, 2016, 13:54
If the web is large enough that the spider's accuracy becomes irrelevant, then I say have the PC attempting to dodge out of the way of the web make a Dex Save.

The DC of the save depends on the CR of the spider itself. If you want the spider more challenging, the DC should be higher. If the spider is a lesser threat, make the DC lower.

You could always go with a variable DC as well. If I want my monsters to have a varying degree of threat, I establish the DC by rolling a 1d6 or 2d4 and adding 10 to it. That way the combat is less predictable. Although, this completely undermines any CR rating system the ruleset may have established, but like I said, it makes combat less predictable and more exciting.