PDA

View Full Version : CoreRPG Question: MoreCore



Xydonus
March 28th, 2016, 17:07
So it's been awhile, but I'm trying out the CoreRPG ruleset again since I've noticed it has received quite a few updates.

I've got two questions:

First is the 'Primary Attributes' which is located on the MoreCore character sheet. It's not editable, it's blank and regardless of what I do in the other sections, nothing gets added to it.

What exactly is the purpose of it, cause it doesn't seem to be displaying anything.

My other question is; is there any way to disable the alphabetical order of the Attributes/Skills section. It is proving to be more of a hindrance than a blessing.

Cheers.

damned
March 29th, 2016, 01:04
Hi Xydonus - the primary Attributes is incomplete at this time. Still working out what to put there.
No the sort order is fixed at Alphabetical. You may find this works for you (or not) -
Use Groups and Number the Groups and then let the items order alpha under that or you would need to number them too.

eg
01. Attributes
Charisma (16)
Constitution (13)
Dexterity (9)
Intelligence (12)
Strength (10)
Wisdom (16)
02. Basic Moves
Aid/Interfere
Defend
Defy Danger
Discern Realities
Hack&Slash
parley
03. Special Moves
Carouse
Encumbrance
Last Breath
Level Up

Xydonus
March 29th, 2016, 02:03
Cheers Damned. Yeah that's the method I ended up using, unfortunately I found it too cluttered to be feasible as I was planning on a potential move from the WFRP 2nd Ed ruleset to CoreRPG, but right now it gets heavily cluttered and the character window is also quite small. So I'll be leaving it for now.

Cheers though!

LordValerius
April 3rd, 2016, 13:28
No the sort order is fixed at Alphabetical. You may find this works for you (or not) -


Hmm....Sorry for interjecting here, but I have a sneaking suspicion this is why I'm having issues with Inventory Items and Locations bouncing all over the place on the character sheets. Someone seems to have an unhealthy attachment to Alphabetical...=) I usually have the same attachment, to be honest, but it sure is a thorn when it comes to certain things.

Peace.
LordV

damned
April 3rd, 2016, 13:35
Having the ability to drag and drop them into your own order add s a significant degree of complexity. Having them unordered makes finding items more challenging... hence ordering them makes the most sense....

viresanimi
April 3rd, 2016, 14:36
@damned

I have to voice my agreement here. Having some sort of order is best. Alphabetical just seems logical and is something everyone understands.


Vires Animi

damned
November 6th, 2016, 13:53
MoreCore has been updated extensively and converted to a ruleset now. More info here: https://www.fantasygrounds.com/forums/showthread.php?34860-MoreCore-Ruleset

antaskidayo
December 11th, 2016, 13:53
how do you code a -2 dice penalty to all rolls on an effect in morecore?

ex: roll 5d6 would be 3d6

damned
December 12th, 2016, 04:47
Hi antaskidayo this thread is about the older MoreCore extension which has been replaced by the ruleset.
Anyways... Effects are extremely complex pieces of coding and are very dependant on understand all the rules that apply to that ruleset. MoreCore (or any other generic system) cant know that stuff. However... if you can describe in more detail exactly how and what you are trying to do I might be able to suggest how this would work.

What game system?
What is the core dice mechanic?
How do you build your rolls?
etc

antaskidayo
December 12th, 2016, 04:59
Hi i was planning to use MoreCore with Shadowrun 5ED, as the 4ED pak doesnt work with a newbie like me.

I got the /successes working with the char sheet and npcs. I just need the -dice on the effects and its all set

damned
December 12th, 2016, 05:05
Instead of /success try /rollover - (example: Stealth /rollover 3d6x12) also create another entry called (You can probably tell I dont know SR very well) Disadvantage (value: /mod -2) and you would first click Disadvantage and then Stealth and it will roll 1d6 only.
Would that work for you?

antaskidayo
December 12th, 2016, 05:38
I tried it, it doesnt work the tests require all the 5s and 6s on the dice pool to count the success

damned
December 12th, 2016, 05:58
so you will need to actually explain the mechanic then. in full.

antaskidayo
December 12th, 2016, 06:17
Its not that hard player A rolls a dice pool of d6s vs opponents defense dice pool of d6

All 5s and 6s are counted for successes

Ex: 5d6 = 4,3,5,5,6 is 3 success

So if player A has more success then the opponents defense test then the opponent takes damage

Penalties in the game comes in forms of dice penalty, so a -2 means 2 less d6 to roll for the test. Thats where i would like to put the penalties in form of effects

damned
December 12th, 2016, 09:53
it appears that /rollover is still in my WIP folder for v1.35
it seems to me that /rollover should do what you are describing.... it will go up towards the end of the week.

antaskidayo
December 12th, 2016, 18:50
Wow thats awesome