PDA

View Full Version : New to this

DoomsBane
March 16th, 2016, 22:00
Alright I know this is the wrong thread for this question but I am new to this. Alright so I just went to steam and downloaded the demo. So will I need to pay 39 dollars at some point for full version? Also now that I have it download I have went in and started looking for a game. But I cannot figure out how to make a character? Perhaps you could help me with this?

Zacchaeus
March 16th, 2016, 22:20
Hi, DoomsBane and welcome to Fantasy Grounds and to the community.

If you are planning to use the software only as a player then, provided the DM has an ultimate license then all you will ever need is the demo version. You, can of course, upgrade and you will need to do so if you plan on DMing a game. For that a full license is required if all the players also have a full license and an ultimate license if the players only have the demo.

Before I can point you in the right direction for character creation it will depend on what ruleset you intend to play (Pathfinder, 3.5, 4e, 5e, Savage Worlds etc etc). Having said that the wiki here (https://www.fantasygrounds.com/wiki/index.php/Main_Page) is a good place to start; you'll find many videos and articles which will help you.

Moon Wizard
March 16th, 2016, 22:21
There are a couple options:

1. You can create a character on the GM server, while you are connected to them. With this option, you can use any content packs that the GM owns to create your characters.

2. You can use the Manage Characters mode to create a character. For the Manage Characters mode, only the base 3.5E/Pathfinder SRD content packs are available on the demo version. If you have a paid license, then the 5E SRD and Basic Rules content packs are available as well. When you connect to a GM server, you can select the Import Local Character option in the Character Selection window to bring in a character from the Local Character Manager.

Regards,
JPG

DoomsBane
March 16th, 2016, 23:20