PDA

View Full Version : Spells and Saves

remocarde
March 15th, 2016, 03:11
I am new to Fantasy Grounds and so far it is an amazing program and in the next month I will be hosting my first game. Currently I have added several different effects like touch of corruption and sickened as a new spell. The problem I am running into is the combat feature. I added monsters in the combat tracker, and the players. On the players turn I want to cast the spell fireball. Let me know if I am doing something wrong:

Click on pointer
Click on radius
Click target
Click on cast
Click on damage

The problem I am having is the when the creature makes the save for the spell, when I click on damage it does not take half of the damage for the spell. Is is suppose to take half damage or is it something I am doing wrong?

Aaron
March 15th, 2016, 05:22

Refer to the picture above.

If you look at the Fireball Save, it should read something similar to "Dex DC 14 (H)". If there's no (H) there, then the spell hasn't been set up to do half on a successful save. By clicking the magnifying glass shown it will open the "Spell/Ability Use" window, where you can see down at the bottom is the "ON SAVE" section which should read "Half on Success". Click to cycle options.

The other problem is that the target may not be targeted? The person casting the Fireball spell should have a targets or targets underneath their name, as shown in the picture. To target manually like this, you CTRL-Left Click on a token to target, and again to un-target.

Let me know if this helps.

Zacchaeus
March 15th, 2016, 10:22