PDA

View Full Version : Yet another thread about connection issues...

draion
March 13th, 2016, 19:18
Hello all,

I'm new to FG. Me and my old tabletop friends are very excited about discovering FG and getting together to play DND again for the first time since life had seperated us. We've fiddled a bit with the demo, seen the potential of the software, drooled over the fun times ahead of us, bought copies of FG, the rule books, and a starting adventure, and are set to go... except, I would have NEVER thought solving a connection problem could give such a headache!

I'll explain the steps I took as simple and fast as I can.

First time I installed FG, my connection test was failing all the time. I googled it. Forwarded the port 1082 through my modems interface. It worked. I was getting a success on the test ever since (for about a month).

...untill the day we were ready to play our first session (today), the test fails again. No new programs installed, no change in my operating system (windows 10), no updates for FG (3.1.7 was working fine yesterday)...

I checked my modem settings again. The rule is still there. I recreated the rule just to be sure.

I also added a rule into windows firewall (I don't use a hardware firewall or any other software) for port 1082.

I tried complletely disabling the firewall.

I installed a port checker software from portforward.com which was suggested on the FG FAQ page. It gives a successful result for port 1082. But when I try canyouseeme.org it fails.

I can connect to a game hosted by someone else, but they can't connect to mine. Which is a problem, because I will be the one hosting the game as DM.

Any suggestions/help would be really appreciated. Thanks...

Mortar
March 13th, 2016, 19:20
You give your players your external IP address or server alias?

draion
March 13th, 2016, 19:24
I tried both.

Trenloe
March 13th, 2016, 19:27