PDA

View Full Version : Virtual online gaming vs. real life gaming

Grumph
April 29th, 2005, 21:26
I have been GMing for many years (real life) and have purchased the full FG license as I can see some advantages in virtual online gaming. However, my curent group of players are somewhat sceptical about virtual gaming.

I would like to know from GM's and players, who have experience with both real life and virtual gaming, what concrete advantages and disadvantages FG virtual gaming offers compared to real life gaming and if possible how to minimize the potential disadvantages.

Grumph

gurney9999
April 29th, 2005, 22:56
Pacing is something you will have to get used to. Things happen slower when playing online. Supplement with a voice chat program to make things flow better if you need to.

Role-playing for some is even easier online, since you cannot be seen. I know some who refuse to play "in character" in person but who are very good at it when they know no one is watching them.

Establish guidelines around your chatting. People tend to step on each other and conversations overlap because of typing time... part of your GM duties deal with controlling the action so it is easy to understand what is going on, especially during combat.

Have players use the function keys to save repeatable chat lines... it makes things flow smoother when you see those actions pop up in the chat, lessening confusion. "I attack my closest enemy with my long sword." immediately popping into the chat window instead of waiting for the person to type it out is very helpful in keeping things moving.

Ilwan
April 29th, 2005, 23:30
I run a campaign with my real life gaming group. We were also somewhat sceptical before we started. Here is what we have experienced during the last 5 months.

Advantages: