PDA

View Full Version : Problems with Fantasy Grounds automation and player interactions

bullywug
March 6th, 2016, 20:37
I've been using Fantasy Grounds for a few months now to run our 4e game. I've noticed since we started using Fantasy Grounds that we've developed a problem with players not interacting with the group. They don't describe what they're doing. Sometimes they don't talk at all, they just use their power and sit there.

I've tried getting the players to interact more: Tell me what they are doing, who they're attacking, what they roll, etc but only a couple of the players ever do and one in particular never says what he's doing. I turned off the setting that shows whether an attack hits an NPC or not hoping that would pry them out of their shell but unfortunately nothing changed.

I'm hoping that someone has run into this problem before and can recommend changes that I can implement to get the game to be more like pen and paper or something to force the players to interact with me more. This software is so automated sometimes I wonder why I show up for the games because I get bored just sitting here reading text.

damned
March 6th, 2016, 21:07
Hey bullywug. Are you using Voice or Text?
Perhaps you can firstly set the standard by really getting descriptive on your end. Give that two sessions and and see if it draws the players back out of their shells.
If it doesnt - explain to the players that you require more input from them. The game is not fun for you without the collaborative story telling. You may choose to do this privately with the specific players.
If it doesnt improve and you are not having fun then call the game done. If you are not having fun why are you doing it?

JulioIP
March 6th, 2016, 21:09
Ya thats a tough one, Not software related in my opinion. I think alot of people find it harder to roleplay online, it seem like it would be just the opposite.