PDA

View Full Version : DMGuild PDFs of old modules

Varsuuk
March 4th, 2016, 15:28
I am converting a DDEX model to FG as my first learning run because it is small. Probably the first big project I'd like to work on in near future is an "as I find time" conversion of ToE (1st Ed) in order to run it later in Summer.

I have every print version of ToE (Homlett in tan, one of my earliest modules) so I may incorporate some later parts if they make sense. Thing is I only have scanned Homlett and ToE. I'm not so sure they are "great" scans as I am a newb with these things. I noticed dmguild had ToE on sale low enough to tempt me to rebuy IF theirs was a high quality scan which is cut-n-pasteable to FG with minimal (or none?!) issues.

I haven't started in mine, so prob should spot check it, but I've seen previews of some of these things and some look like "picture scans" vs ocr-ish. Picture-scans are practically no effort especially with the older 1e modules I have.

I wouldn't have scanned ToE already since it was a thick bound book except that during the many months of playing - it started falling apart from the use and notes ;). So I bought a second "pristine" copy and didn't mind mangling the first to scan ;) won't do that for all my oldies.

Nylanfs
March 4th, 2016, 17:17
You will ALWAYS have cut and paste issues with scanned PDF's, OCR is just not at the level that it replicates creating a PDF without text and spacing issues yet.

Trenloe
March 4th, 2016, 17:24
If you're talking T1-4 Temple of Elemental Evil (1e) (https://www.dmsguild.com/product/17068/T14-Temple-of-Elemental-Evil-1e?it=1) Then the format is mentioned on the right hand side - "Scanned image". If you click the info "i" icon it mentions that it was scanned then passed through OCR.