PDA

View Full Version : Question about new character creation from a newbie

callahan09
February 9th, 2016, 15:00
Hello everyone,

Hopefully I'm asking this in the right place :)

I'm brand new to both D&D 5e and Fantasy Grounds. I'd like to start playing and Fantasy Grounds looked like a really cool piece of software that help me get into it (especially since I don't have any local friends who are interested in playing with me at this time). I've downloaded the demo software and played around with the tutorial a little bit, but my questions on the character creation process weren't really fulfilled, and I'm not sure if I just didn't understand something, or if my expectations were out of line, or if the demo version itself just doesn't have the functionality I was looking for.

I was kind of hoping/assuming that Fantasy Grounds would automate a lot of the process of playing the game, or at least creating a new character. When I went into the creation screen on a new character, I knew from reading one of the in-program tutorials that I was supposed to roll for setting my skills (strength, intelligence, wisdom, etc). But I couldn't really find a way to do this in an automated fashion, or even in a way that guided me through the process. Am I supposed to just know the rules on character creation and go through the process manually? Or did I just not understand how to get the game to guide me through the process? Or is it just something that isn't available in the demo version?