PDA

View Full Version : Displaying mass and length units according to SI

Alduin Starborn
February 2nd, 2016, 14:14
I'm new to FG and even after browsing through the wiki I cannot seem to find an answer to the following question:

Is there a way to display weight/load in [kg] and speed/radius/etc. in [m]?

Thank you

dulux-oz
February 2nd, 2016, 14:19
Hi Alduin,

No, not easily. Fantasy RPGs have traditionally used the Imperial system for measurements, and so FG generally defaults to that.

I'm currently working on an Extension which will allow the GM to define any measurement system they want and to convert automatically from one system to the next, but its a fair way off yet.

May I ask why you'd like to use the SI system? Is their a particular RPG that you're playing that uses it?

Oh, and Welcome! to the Community :)

Cheers

Alduin Starborn
February 2nd, 2016, 14:32
I'm playing ol' good D&D, but I'm not used to work with imperial units (why?! Why do you insist on using weird units?! ;)). Either I used translated books in the past or simply made my own equipment spreadsheets.
I was simply wondering if there was the option to use SI units, since at first glance it does not seem a big deal to convert units before printing them on screen.
It is no big deal anyway, I'll patiently wait for your Extension :)

dulux-oz
February 2nd, 2016, 14:39
imperial units (why?! Why do you insist on using weird units?! ;)).

I suppose two reasons - (1) RPGs were primarily invented in the USA, and the USA uses Imperial measurements, and (2) Fantasy RPGs are normally set in the past, so using "old" Imperial Units helps the flavour of those olden times.