PDA

View Full Version : Help wanted on making masked parts of the map compeletly black

PogS
February 2nd, 2016, 11:51
Hi all,

I just bought FG and didn't GM on it yet. I am still learning it and preparing my Rise of the Runelords Campaign on it. I thank kane280484 for sending me his campaign module for it. I am in the process of translating it to French. Anyway I'm diverging here.
My problem is the following : I intend to run FG locally and display the maps and tokens etc... on my projector screen on the wall. The problem is that the players will see the unrevealed part of the map as it is not totally blackened in GM view. I installed the Black image mask extension but it is not fully opaque
I searched for solutions but alas I found nothing so far. The only thing I can think of is to resize the map window closely around the players but it is not perfect at all
Do you guys know a workaround for this ?

Thank you beforehand for your help :)

dulux-oz
February 2nd, 2016, 12:01
Hi PogS,

The way we normally do this type of thing is run a 2nd instance of FG as a player and show that instance on a 2nd screen.

2 other things: have you checked out the FG Tutorial Videos yet?

and are you aware of the LPak Extensions (since you said you were translating into French)?

Cheers

damned
February 2nd, 2016, 12:26
Dulux_Oz has good advice. Run a second instance of the client on the same computer and connect to localhost.
The GMs view intentionally applies a degree of alpha transparency or whatever it is called so that the GM can see what they are doing.

PogS
February 2nd, 2016, 12:55
@dulux-oz
Yeah I watched several videos already.
I already installed the French LPak Extension. It's nice even though it is not finished. I wish so hard that the PFRPG ruleset, spells, etc were translated to french as well.