PDA

View Full Version : Bought all the books now have FG Ultimate! HELP!!

Hicer
January 30th, 2016, 14:22
Hi All!!

I am new to FG and D&D.. i bought all the books in physical form for 5E so Player's Handbook, DM Guide and Monster Manual..
Now i bought FG Ultimate so that i can play with my friends even if we are not together..

My Question is how can I use my books in the programm?? is there a way to include them without buying the packs in the store? or do I have to include them manual which means typing in all the content???

thanks for your help :)

Zacchaeus
January 30th, 2016, 14:58
Hi, Hicer and welcome to FG and to the community.

You have a couple of options. The first is to buy the FG versions of the books which is probably the best and of course most expensive option.

The second is to just use the material that comes free with FG, namely the basic player rules, the basic DM rules and the SRD. Together this gives you about 80% of the content of the PHB, MM and DMG but does miss out on quite a bit of the detail like character backgrounds, character archetypes, artefacts, sentient weapons and other interesting stuff.

The third option is to try and use this tool (https://www.fantasygrounds.com/forums/showthread.php?27297-Par5e) to get your paper copy of the PHB etc into FG - but that's going to be very time consuming.

Using the second option will allow you to get a pretty fair amount of automation into characters and you should be able to enter the missing bits manually yourself.

Hicer
January 30th, 2016, 15:47
First of all thx for the fast reply. So u say that i either use Par5e which i saw already but was to complex for me. Isnt there someone who already has used Par5e and is able to upload the .pak files?

And when i use the second option u listed am i able to edit some of the content? Or the last idea is to use a combination and look up some things in the physical books my self and post them ingame.