PDA

View Full Version : Voice chat for games

Resnig
January 24th, 2016, 02:06
Apologies if this has been answered before, I did a search but didn't find anything which especially answered it (actually breaking my silence and is my first post).

Which is the better software to use for voice chat in your experience? I'm fairly new to fantasy grounds, have been playing D&D (IRL) with a couple of groups for the last year or so and bought fantasy grounds in order to DM some D&D 5e games (this will be my first time as a DM, hence questions now). I've bought my own license, plus several modules and will be getting the ultimate license to run my own groups in the next week or two.

The question I have is around voice chat software (or video if this works better). In my own experience of D&D, frequently we need to run side groups for discussions (especially in the larger games) when characters are doing their own investigations or are separated from the main group. Which voice or video chat software would support this? I know skype doesn't allow you, or others in the group to either mute certain people or run a temporary sub group. I also have seen there is a FG teamspeak 3 server. Does TS3 allow you to do this?
Which software do you all use and specifically WHY? ("such and such software is the best!" without any reasons isn't especially helpful - sorry (not being rude), unfortunately I have asked elsewhere in the past and i have had that response, which was really unhelpful).

I've been genuinely impressed on what I've seen with FG so far, but to run an online game, I know we'll need to do it primarily with voice chat (i know half or more of my group wouldn't bother if they had to type everything in text chat unfortunately. (i grew up with IRC and don't mind, they didn't unfortunately)) :(