PDA

View Full Version : LFG - Hoping to get my feet wet

GoblinTown
January 17th, 2016, 18:40
Hello all,

I have been mostly an old-school gamer (basic D&D, 1st ed AD&D mostly). I have played a number of systems over the years, Call of Cthulhu, D&D 3.x, Palladium, Deadlands, White Wolf and probably a few things that slip the mind. I have no experience with 4e or 5e, but have been reading 5e and am very interested in trying it/eventually running it.

I picked up Fantasy Grounds this past sale, but don't know anyone else with it and am nowhere near confident in it enough to be running anything yet. (working on learning it)

Anyway, I haven't really played any tabletop rpg's for the past several years and am hoping to get my feet wet again and get back into the community. Some experience seeing how Fantasy Grounds works first hand in a real game would also be pretty invaluable I think.

A one shot/short adventure of 5e would be ideal for starters, but I am willing to join just about any game. I am wary of joining some of the posters looking for long term commitments right off the bat after so long of being out of the game and personal obligations that might interfere at times..

Am in Central time zone (GMT-6) and evenings work best for me, but with a one shot I can be more flexible and try to work things in when I can.

PS: I also have Tabletop Simulator in case you might have an occasional 'chair' free for that kind of gaming too. Been a while for that as well. Too long.

damned
January 18th, 2016, 03:40
Welcome GoblinTown
I saw your post over on Steam and I think maybe you also registered on FG Con?

The fastest way into a game is to post on threads when a GM advertises a new game.
Stay active on the boards and express an interest on anything that looks like it fits your availability and style.
Many games fill up fast so the GMs dont need to go looking for players...