PDA

View Full Version : How do I get this product to work?

blackbird5648
January 14th, 2016, 23:32
I am running FG on Windows 7 and having a hell of a time getting it to run properly. Everything is installed my campaign is ready to go but I cannot get a successful connection externally. Every test I've run has failed. I have a Quest Q1000 router and have allowed port forwarding on 1802 using my internal IP address for both UDP and TCP. My UPnP and Set UPnP NAT State are disabled, as is DMZ hosting. My windows firewall is set to allow FG to run through it and I even adjusted the advanced settings for inbound rules for FG port and protocols (i.e. local port 1802), Scope is specified as my internal IP, and Edge Traversal is set to Defer to Application.

I am not a techie. so I have been stumbling through the posts here trying just about everything I can understand.

I should point out that the Internal IP used by FG when loading my campaign defaults to my IPv4 address and not my IP. Considering that much of what I have read has directed me to use my IP address I don't understand why FG would use my IPv4 instead.

Please help. I really wish the developers would have some sort of service to help people to set up their product.

-Dave

dulux-oz
January 15th, 2016, 00:18
Hi Dave,

Damned is the best person to help with this - he's a real wiz at getting people sorted. I'm sure he'll drop in soon and help out.

In the meantime, let me see if I can give you a few pointers: www.portforward.com is the best online resource to help people set up their firewalls correctly for all sorts of programs and all sorts of makes and models. If you haven't checked it out then it might be worth while doing so.