PDA

View Full Version : Ship To Ship Combat

Meliath1742
January 4th, 2016, 18:29
I'm new to ship combat in FG. Exactly how do you use the Chase tracker (or Combat tracker) for ship combat? I tried just dragging in stock ships from the SciFi companion to try it out but they come up unskilled with "zero" for attack numbers and no basic stats (Pace, Parry, Toughness, Armor all show "0"). Damage seems to work but the ships show Toughness of "0".

Mask_of_winter
January 4th, 2016, 22:38
It does the same to me in the chase tracker. I've only ever used vehicle combat through the chase tracker once and can't remember how I did it. I usually just put the pilots, drivers, AI in the combat or chase tracker and keep track of the vehicles separately.
Gonzalo is running a Last Parsec game and has come up with some great stuff, let's hope he can share how he does it.

g0ntzal
January 5th, 2016, 00:39
It does the same to me in the chase tracker. I've only ever used vehicle combat through the chase tracker once and can't remember how I did it. I usually just put the pilots, drivers, AI in the combat or chase tracker and keep track of the vehicles separately.
Gonzalo is running a Last Parsec game and has come up with some great stuff, let's hope he can share how he does it.

Thanks for your kind words :) I love The Last Parsec but I don't like the spaceship combat rules from SciFi companion. I use the High Space rules in the Combat Tracker plus some homebrew mechanics. I'm going to show you a fast system for playing the space combats (but I recommend the High Space combat system).

First of all, create the ships as NPC's. Set the Toughness and Armor values manually, set the skills (shooting, sensors, whatever you want) and drag the ship weapons on them. Then, add the PC ship as an ally for every PC in the ship. Finally, add the PC's and all the ships to Combat Tracker.