PDA

View Full Version : NPC attacks all in a row or they don't work

Jaxilon
January 4th, 2016, 09:43
I'm new to FG and LUA is new to me but I am a C# coder and while I have seen a number of threads on this subject I seem to be missing something?

I have GCA and export an NPC using the correct xport to FG II txt as .xml and then use /importnpc within FG (I have also created an NPC in FG just to make sure) but for whatever reason I have issues with the Attacks. I spent a while messing with it and was able to fix it by removing all the carriage returns and just left everything one after another. It's pretty ugly trying to click an attack however since it's one giant string.

This is what I have done and it basically works but I would prefer to have each attack on it's own line:
Bite (12):[bite 1d-2 cr; C]Kick (10):[kick 1d-1 cr; C,1]Club (12):[swing 1d+2 cr; 1]Club (12):[thrust 1d cr; 1]Punch (12):[punch 1d-2 cr; C]

I've tried to use , and ; but no dice. I'm pretty sure I have the correct GURPS ruleset loaded and I did check the npcattackfield.lua at line 101 which is:
starts, ends, all, skill, meth, dam = string.find(str, "\r?(([%u%w+%s]*%u%w+%s[%w%w+]*[%(%w+%)]*%(%d%d?%):%s*)\r*(%[%w%w+)%s(%d[%d+d]*[%-%+%d%d+]*%s[%w%w+;]*)[%s%w;]*[,%w%d;]*%])", nextindex);

(The red is just marking what was mentioned in another thread on this subject a year ago or so and I'm guessing that's the latest on this.)

If I have everything as good as it gets right now please let me know because otherwise I'm going to keep chewing at this issue.

Thanks in advance and sorry if I missed an explanation somewhere. I have gone through a lot of threads looking.

damned
January 4th, 2016, 11:25
saithan is I think the current GURPs maintainer. his last post on that suggests that the /r? allows you to enter each weapon/attack on a separate line. have you tried that?

Jaxilon
January 4th, 2016, 15:16