PDA

View Full Version : Question before I buy

Crowberry
December 6th, 2015, 04:34
I am completely new to any type of table-top RPG and I don't have any real-life friends who play. Would this be a good purchase to get my feet wet? Any general info the community can provide? Any advice is appreciated and thanks in advance.

dulux-oz
December 6th, 2015, 04:55
Hi Crowberry,and Welcome!

The absolute best way to learn how to play any RPG (Role-Playing Game) is to find an existing group and join them. They'll show you the ropes, get you started, etc, etc.

A good way to do that is to join in on on of the Cons (Conventions) that are run online - most of these are one-off games (one shots) and a lot of them welcome new players. Unfortunately there is a Con running this weekend, which I think you just missed. The next one will be on in a month or so, so keep an eye out.

To play in a Con game all you need is the Demo/Free copy of Fantasy Grounds, so it'll cost you zip.

Apart from waiting for the next Con, post a message over in the LFG - Looking For Group forum. Give your experience, days and times you can play, location (so we get the time right) - things like that. The more information you post the easier it'll be to find a game. Be patient - it can take up to a few weeks to find a game, especially one that suits you, your style of gaming (which you'll develop), the people you're gaming with, etc.

To play with FG (Fantasy grounds) all you need is the Free/Demo copy of the software, provided the GM (Game Master - the host of the game) is running with an Ultimate License. If the GM only has a Full License then you'll need a Full License as well. You can purchase or you can do a monthly subscription - either weay, it really doesn't cost that much.