PDA

View Full Version : Help Request: Plan for Switiching to Fantasy Grounds

Adrestia
November 22nd, 2015, 15:22
Hi, FG Family.

I'm a decade+ old tabletop veteran of DnD 3.5 and a recent Pathfinder player and DM (~2 years). I started playing online using Roll20 and this year I started GMing my first game using Pathfinder's APs as a guide. It's gone more swimmingly than a trout, I daresay! However, the topic of switching to Fantasy Grounds has come up and I have to give it serious consideration since 1 of my players suffers from a slow computer and struggles with her character sheet.

Now, I'm going to bring a bit of my dayjob into this potential plan of switching and I hope you don't mind helping.

1) Maps
a. Immersion
I'm very visual and it helps me to create and stay in the immersion of the world with maps. I read an article where the writer claimed that Roll20 fell into a business trap of focusing on maps. Another article also referenced that fact that if Roll20 went belly up, I'd lose all access to my lovely hand created maps and I can't disagree. However, though I am an artist, I have limited time to create engaging maps and I've relied on Roll20s token system for guidance in that area.
Q. If you are a heavy user of maps, have you used Roll20 before? What's your experience of the two apps?
Q. If you run tabletop games with a lot of visuals, what has worked well for you?
Q. If you're a theatre of the mind GM, how do you handle combat?
Q. If you're a FG GM, what's your map strategy? Is there such a thing as too many maps? Is there an organization method that works well for you?

b. Tools