PDA

View Full Version : Hiring a lua programmer ?

Maspalio
November 18th, 2015, 17:31
Hey all,

I'd really like to have a cWoD Ruleset (v 20th) working as intended, and was wondering how efficient it would be to hire a lua programmer to do so.

I have all the design and graphics done, but the dice don't work as described by the rules. I found many similarities in other Rulesets, but none of them do exactly what i want. In top of that, i want it to be in touch with the CoreRPG for updates.

Do you think a random and canonical lua programmer can find a good basis with the FG3 files, or is it too dedicated to RPG players ?

There no big deal i guess : the main problem i get is with the successes, failure and botches on dice pool. But i'm a graphic designer and can't go further with programming.

Thanks for your thoughts.

damned
November 18th, 2015, 23:53
Hi Maspalio - most rulesets created by community members are created based on personal interest and not any commercial motivation. Why? Its programming and its non-trivial. It will often take an experienced programmer upwards of 100 hours of effort to build a ruleset. It may be less, even a lot less if you have good existing code - it also might not. But either way you can see that hiring someone could be very expensive... There are three main parts to the project - building the character sheets and NPC sheets, building the theme and building the code that makes it all work. You may be able to collaborate with someone else and sharer the work load - i had help on the coding side of things when I did Maelstrom RPG (thanks Trenloe and ianmward) but it was still a massive venture.
Finding a programmer with a shared interest in your ruleset is the best bet (but also not easy!).
Good luck!

Oh yeah - have a look at MoreCore - it is layered on CoreRPG (similar to a ruleset but made as an extension) as it has lots of comments. and touches on a lot of things - that a ruleset will so it has good examples in it.