PDA

View Full Version : Distribution of permanent magic items

ffujita
November 1st, 2015, 07:10
I'm playing the Lost Mines of Phandelvar, and our party has come across a +1 long sword. The problem is that this magic item is not a good fit for any of the player characters, the strong ones would rather use a battleaxe, and the dexterous ones would rather use a rapier. Of course, if we happen to meet a monster that is resistant to normal damage the party will wish that someone had that sword, but nobody wants to give up a Magic Item mark on their character sheet for it.

Is there any RAW alternative to just letting it stay in the Redbrand Hideout?

damned
November 1st, 2015, 09:59
I would feel quite comfortable turning it into something that your party would rather use...

ffujita
November 1st, 2015, 15:27
I asked our GM to let me, for a fee, take the long sword to a smith and refashion it into a rapier. He said that to run an AL legal campaign, he couldn't do that. I'm quite new to AL, so I was wanting to see if there is some mechanism that would allow it.

Zacchaeus
November 1st, 2015, 15:34
Like damned says but I would have gone further and sorted this out well before the play session by getting rid of the Longsword (presumably as DM I know that it's no use for the party) and replace it with something that the party could use. However I don't know anything about Adventurer's league either.

damned
November 1st, 2015, 19:57
Oh man - I totally missed that this was AL! Sorry - disregard my comments - I know nuffink about AL!

cas206
November 1st, 2015, 20:05