PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Question(s) - Adventures & Modules

Aakav
October 26th, 2015, 18:45
Hey All,
I'm brand new to FG and am really looking forward to using it! One feature that really made me choose it as my VT is the integration with D&D resources to save me a lot of time as a DM.

As such, I bought the D&D 5e Core Class Pack, as well as the Hoard of the Dragon Queen adventure. I'm wondering though - does buying the adventure just give me the library of encounters, monsters, etc. and I'll still need to build the modules myself, or does it give me a module that I can basically just walk my PC's through? I was under the impression that the latter was the case, but if I still need to do a lot of setup for the module ahead of time, I should know that too...

If I'm way off base on my understanding, or forgetting anything important to this, let me know that, too!

Nylanfs
October 26th, 2015, 19:06
When you buy the module almost everything is setup for you.

Bloodsausage
October 26th, 2015, 19:14
Follow up question to Aakav's:

If you buy a module like HotDQ, does it come with all of the monsters preloaded, or only the ones not in the Monster Pack? Do you need the Monster Pack to run the HotDQ module?

Zacchaeus
October 26th, 2015, 19:23
All modules come with the monsters added complete with tokens for those monsters. You don't need the Monster Manual.

To the OP, this isn't an easy question to answer since it depends on how much you put into things as a DM. You can run any module without touching a thing straight out of the box. The only preparation that you need to do in that case is read and understand the module, how it is laid out and how best to run it.

If, like me, you like lot's of read aloud text and room descriptions, whispers to players, many more maps, treasure parcels which are geared towards the party etc etc then you will need to get your hands dirty and do some extra work.

Oh, and welcome to the forums and the community.

damned