PDA

View Full Version : Is it possible for sound made to all Players and GM when natural 1 or 20 rolled

Hurske
October 15th, 2015, 02:27
Hi everyone, unfortunately I am not experienced enough to even attempt this. But is there an existing script or extension that would make a sound anytime someone rolled a critical failure or success, and to be heard by everyone?

Moon Wizard
October 15th, 2015, 07:54
There is not currently any sound support in the Fantasy Grounds API another than a basic system bell sound. You can vote for sounds in the wish list in my sig.

Cheers,
JPG

Hurske
October 15th, 2015, 08:05
Moon wizard, what about the chime and halt action that produce sound, those would suffice, unless I'm going crazy and imagining those sounds.

Moon Wizard
October 15th, 2015, 08:16
There's the User.ringBell API call that makes the basic chime sound. The only other sound is the halt sound, and it is not accessible through the API. The ringBell API is currently used to notify players when it is their turn in the combat tracker.

You could write an extension to ring the bell on a critical hit, but it would end up having to replace the ActionAttack global script and probably be updated most FG releases.

Regards,
JPG

Wolfheart
October 15th, 2015, 09:13
I believe that Fantasy Grounds would become an even stronger competitor if it had more sound; after all, sound is a really good way to immerse players. Even movie makers say that sound (music, sound effects) is 75% of the experience.

The best solution would be to have a number of sound options that players/GMs can turn on/off at will.

Personally I'd love to hear the dice hit the table, with sound effects matching the number of dice rolled (roll 3d6 and you hear 3 six-siders rolling). I don't know how hard it would be to integrate this in a way that made it sound as realistic as possible, or how hard it would be to program something like that (probably hard).

Other examples could be: