PDA

View Full Version : Core RPG Ruleset Architecture

LordEntrails
September 12th, 2015, 19:36
This is a work in progress. When it becomes mature enough, we can see about having it added to the wiki if appropriate.

Please take a look and see if the way that I am laying this out, the notation, syntax and verbiage I'm using makes sense. I'm not a software developer, so when I refer to a "function", maybe that's not the right word I should use. Also, maybe their is a better or more standard notation that I should be using. Plus, I probably have some of the descriptions wrong. I'm working off of a very limited knowledge of the FG architecture.

Please comment and jump in anywhere. I've pasted the text below, could not attached the rtf file that I'm working in.

CoreRPG Architecture
This is intended as a dissection of the existing CoreRPG Ruleset for developers to use when developing custom extensions or other rulesets.

The structure of this document mimics the file and object structure of the ruleset itself. The nomenclature is as follows:
graphics/icons this is a folder with a path relatice to the base CoreRPG folder
base.xml (/graphics) this is a file in the CoreRPG/graphics folder
includefile (base.xml) this is a function or object call inside the base.xml file

The folder and file references (in parenthesis) may be excluded when talking about the function or file contained within the preceding folder or file. i.e. this document will present the structure in a hierarchical manner matching that of the actual folders and files.

CoreRPG this is the base folder in which all of the ruleset files are structured.
base.xml this is the primary declaration for what files are loaded when the ruleset is loaded.

includefile this function tells FG what xml files to load at ruleset initialization. These are usually xml files that define attributes and object.