PDA

View Full Version : how to get the biggest bang for my buck?

WansumBeats
September 3rd, 2015, 19:36
New to savage worlds... ive bought the core books and im learning the system, which by the way looks amazing.

What im curious to know as ive been playing D&D for 37 years is, there is so many settings in savage worlds i dont know where to start.

Id like to start by keeping it simple.. and sticking with what i know.... fantasy.

From what im reading there is no "generic" fantasy setting or at least i cant find it. ive been to the PEG website and looked at the material they offer. The last parsec seems to be the new sci-fi setting, deadlands is the old west settings with a twist, slipstream seams to be like flash gordon futuristic, and lankhmar from what ive read is just a city? (not sure about that one)

what im looking for is what to buy in fantasy grounds. (ive got the core books)

Id like to try deadlands, and i think my son would be interested in weird wars, the confusion im having is about deadlands reloaded? my understanding is that reloaded means its a futuristic setting that takes place after the original.. but on fantasy grounds deadlands reloaded seems to be deadlands with savage grounds architecture. ive read that deadlands used to be a d20 system?

so what deadlands do i buy that will give me the "CORE" setting and do i need to buy a players guide and marshals guide?

is there a fantasy setting with modules in the store?

is there enough pregenerated material in fantasy grounds to get me up and playing and learning the rules?

just not sure where i should invest my money. in 5e you can buy all the class packs and monster packs, not realizing you could just buy the players handbook and monstermanual and get everything and i dont want to double up on stuff.

any suggestions would be greatly appreciated :)

Wansum

Mask_of_winter
September 3rd, 2015, 21:49